Market To Host Special Leicester Comedy Festival Launch Event

Leicester Market is delighted to announce that it is to host a special launch event for the 2018 Leicester Comedy Festival on Saturday 4th November between 11.00am and 3.00pm, which will see brochures handed out to members of the public, in addition to venues promoting their respective shows in what promises to be an amazing 19 days of comedy across the city.

Taking place at our new Market Square, head down and find out more about the 2018 Leicester Comedy Festival, which will be celebrating its 25th anniversary next year.

Leicester Comedy Festival today (1st November) launched its 2018 festival line-up with a bumper 164-page brochure, featuring 836 events across 69 venues, performed by 613 comedians and performers; an increase of 8.5% on last year.

The festival is the longest running comedy festival in the UK, having taken place every February since 1994, and now regularly attracts over 120,000 people to venues across Leicester and Leicestershire throughout the 19 days.

Highlights for 2018 include Barry Cryer, Harry Hill, Sara Pascoe, Jonathan Pie, Katherine Ryan, Paul Chowdhry, Dave Spikey, Dr John Cooper Clarke, Griff Rhys Jones, Mark Steel and Richard Herring.

Geoff Rowe, founder and director of the festival, said: “For 25 years we have supported new and emerging comedy talent, with many of the comedians who began their careers with us now world famous entertainers. In 2018, we will be celebrating our achievements in style, with a huge selection of acts, from those just starting out to household names, plus more unmissable events unique to the festival than ever before, including Heavenly Laughter in Leicester Cathedral and a bumper birthday party show, as well as festival favourites Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year, the UK Pun Championships and #UKPunDay.”

The festival line-up for 2018 also includes shows from John Kearns, Adam Hess, Ahir Shah, Bec Hill, Ben Target, Bob Slayer, Andrew O’Neill, Bobby Mair, Chris Washington, Colin Hoult, Daliso Chaponda, Gary Delaney, Harriet Kemsley, John Ribbons, Jordan Brookes, Lost Voice Guy, Lucy Porter, Paul Sinha, Robin Ince, Shappi Khorsandi, Stuart Goldsmith, Suzi Ruffell, Tom Allen, Tom Hougton, Tom Lucy and Zoe Lyons.

For more information on the festival, please visit